View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:17 pm



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Logitech webcam won't show display 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:30 pm
Posts: 6
Post Logitech webcam won't show display
Hello.
sorry if this been posted before but im desperate!
i've installed zoneminder on ubuntu 11.04, fedora15 & centos5.6 successfully
and now im trying zoneminder virtual appliance.
im using Logitech Pro 4000
the Webcam is working FINE with Cheese and Camorama

added the camera in the "add new monitor" option and its always Black\Blank screen!
been googleing about it for DAYSSS but cant find any solution for this :evil:

thanks for ANY help :)


Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:42 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:04 am
Posts: 944
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
Might be of some help: http://www.zoneminder.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=16243&hilit=Logitech+QuickCam+Connect+E2500+089d+


Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:15 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:30 pm
Posts: 6
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
thanks for your reply.
after following the instructions... still no success!
and now i cant load the zoneminder webpage at all ! :cry:


Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:10 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:30 pm
Posts: 6
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
ok just 1 mistake
after a reboot i can login to the zoneminder webpage again
but still after adding the camera its just Black\Blank screen!


Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:24 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:55 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Spain
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
Have a look to your logs (/var/log/syslog) and check if it complains about shared memory settings.

_________________

miniITX system (5 IPCams) (ZM1.25)
testing miniITX system (1 Aircam IPCAM) (ZM1.27)


Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:13 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:30 pm
Posts: 6
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
ok not really sure what im suppose to look inside the file
but i posted a screenshot of what look to me the most relevant lines!
is this the right part?

p.s
forgot to mention im running the machine inside VMware Workstation8


Attachments:
zm.jpg
zm.jpg [ 161.62 KiB | Viewed 2231 times ]
Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:30 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:55 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Spain
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
Create a file called checksharedmemory.sh with these lines and chmod +x:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Copyright (C) 2010 Chris "Pada" Kistner
# Modified by PacoLM to check only shared memory settings
# This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or
# modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License
# as published by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2
# of the License, or (at your option) any later version.
# if you find errors, check that coreutils are installed, if not, run the command below
# apt-get -y install coreutils bc
echo "--- Checking memory setting..."
page_size=$(getconf PAGE_SIZE)
mem_bytes=$(awk '/MemTotal:/ { printf "%0.f",$2 * 1024}' /proc/meminfo)
mb=1048576
mem_bytes_mb=$(expr $mem_bytes / $mb)
shmmax=$(echo "$mem_bytes * 0.90" | bc | cut -f 1 -d '.')
shmmax_mb=$(expr $shmmax / $mb)
shmall=$(expr $mem_bytes / $page_size)
shmmax_cur=$(sysctl -n kernel.shmmax)
shmmax_cur_mb=$(expr $shmmax_cur / $mb)
shmall_cur=$(sysctl -n kernel.shmall)
echo "-- Total memory = $mem_bytes B = $mem_bytes_mb MB"
echo "-- Page size = $page_size B"
echo "-- Current kernel.shmmax = $shmmax_cur B = $shmmax_cur_mb MB"
echo "-- Current kernel.shmall = $shmall_cur pages"
if [ "$shmmax" -eq "$shmmax_cur" ] && [ "$shmall" -eq "$shmall_cur" ]; then
    echo "-- Recommended shm values already set"
else
    echo "-- Recommended: kernel.shmmax = $shmmax B = $shmmax_mb MB"
    echo "-- Recommended: kernel.shmall = $shmall pages"
fi
# Done
echo "--- Done."


Run the script and get the values, copy the values at the end of the file /etc/sysctl.conf, for instance:
kernel.shmall = 128350
kernel.shmmax = 473149440

Reload the values using sysctl -p , or reboot

Hope it helps,

PacoLM

_________________

miniITX system (5 IPCams) (ZM1.25)
testing miniITX system (1 Aircam IPCAM) (ZM1.27)


Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:15 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:30 pm
Posts: 6
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
thanks
been following the instructions... but cannot run the script!
was trying also chmod u+x

please check my screenshot


Attachments:
script.jpg
script.jpg [ 43.74 KiB | Viewed 2215 times ]
Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:08 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:55 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Spain
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
Here's attached, I think you removed the #.


Attachments:
checksharedmemory.zip [818 Bytes]
Downloaded 122 times

_________________

miniITX system (5 IPCams) (ZM1.25)
testing miniITX system (1 Aircam IPCAM) (ZM1.27)
Wed Oct 26, 2011 10:21 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:30 pm
Posts: 6
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
ok finally was able to run the script!
copied the values
(as you can see in the screenshot the sysctl.conf already had values so i added # to them)
anyway i tried adding the camera again with PAL\NTSC
and still Black screen :(

whats wrong with that ?


Attachments:
sysctl.jpg
sysctl.jpg [ 33.82 KiB | Viewed 2205 times ]
Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:16 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:42 pm
Posts: 11
Post Re: Logitech webcam won't show display
I just got a Logitech Quickcam E 3500 going, albeit at a low resolution. I'd recommend starting with the lowest resolution. Once picture is working, then you can graduate to higher resolutions.

The pdf at this link came in handy: http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=logitech%20uvc%20frame&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CEgQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.quickcamteam.net%2Fdevices%2Flogitech_uvc_frame_format_list.pdf&ei=zaewTqTtH4yGsAKTp9jBAQ&usg=AFQjCNEd0oxg9fupr8roTO9cifhw0vuUNQ&cad=rja

I opened terminal and ran "lsusb". The last four digits of my ID corresponded with some of the info in the pdf.


Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:18 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group