View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:51 am



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Montage of IP Cameras 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:27 pm
Posts: 341
Post Montage of IP Cameras
I've been doing this for years but it seems to be overlooked by many. Using Zoneminder's montage to view multiple cameras adds to server load a lot.

You can get better performance and a more flexible layout simply by using <img> tags to build a simple html file and avoid stressing zoneminder entirely.

Naturally this needs IP cams that support mjpeg. I've added to the wiki below with a picture of what I mean.

http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.php/IpCamMontage


Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:18 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 6
Post Re: Montage of IP Cameras
Flasheart wrote:
I've been doing this for years but it seems to be overlooked by many. Using Zoneminder's montage to view multiple cameras adds to server load a lot.

You can get better performance and a more flexible layout simply by using <img> tags to build a simple html file and avoid stressing zoneminder entirely.

Naturally this needs IP cams that support mjpeg. I've added to the wiki below with a picture of what I mean.

http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.php/IpCamMontage


Great tip !

What cameras are you using ?

Thanks


Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:38 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:34 pm
Posts: 13
Post Re: Montage of IP Cameras
I was just looking up some things with montage i get logged off every 20 mins or so i was looking how to get around that but I will do this instead thanks a lot.

not sure how much this may help buy instead of streaming the images you could capture a single image and do a auto refresh of the page every 2 sec and then all the stills would reload only one time. may save more bandwith. you could use a plug in RELOADEVERY that is what i use for other things.

Thanks again


Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:53 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:27 pm
Posts: 341
Post Re: Montage of IP Cameras
me2 wrote:
What cameras are you using ?


Lots! About six types of Axis, Y-Cam Blacks, Gadspot, Panasonic, those Dealextreme cheapies and another I can't remember the name of.

I use an sql backend which generates the html for the montage page based on various parameters - which site, which group of cameras (perimeter, welfare, etc). That contains the urls for the images and urls to take the user to the full camera page when clicked.

Works really well, but took a little time to set up.


Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:39 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:27 pm
Posts: 341
Post Re: Montage of IP Cameras
kmrs75 wrote:
I was just looking up some things with montage i get logged off every 20 mins or so i was looking how to get around that but I will do this instead thanks a lot.

not sure how much this may help buy instead of streaming the images you could capture a single image and do a auto refresh of the page every 2 sec and then all the stills would reload only one time. may save more bandwith. you could use a plug in RELOADEVERY that is what i use for other things.

Thanks again


That's a good idea. The only problem isn't so much bandwidth, it's cpu load. The cpu tops out with 16 or so cameras at a time and that limits bandwidth, so your suggestion would help that a lot.


Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:40 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group