View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:44 am



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Any chance I can use this Hardware? 
Author Message

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:13 pm
Posts: 2
Post Any chance I can use this Hardware?
Hello,

I am using the below "resorces" on a Xubuntu 11.10, is there any chance I may setup a working version of ZoneMinder with this PC?
My needs are quite low as well...I need a 1 camera only installation to check my car.
Some neighbour has decided that I am not entitled to park on a public space under my window and he started to vandalize my car (scratches) :( :(
...maybe because I have a foreign plate?? :|

So I would like to use this low level resources old PC for this purpose but please let me know if I have any chance to see it working before I start.

If I have understood well some cameras have built-in video streamer, this may salvage resources on the PC and make the magic happen?

troggot@dancer:~$ egrep "processor|name" /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
model name : Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1400MHz
troggot@dancer:~$ cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemTot
MemTotal: 474864 kB
troggot@dancer:~$ uname -a
Linux dancer 3.0.0-14-generic #23-Ubuntu SMP Mon Nov 21 20:34:47 UTC 2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
troggot@dancer:~$


Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:33 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:43 pm
Posts: 1
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
troggot wrote:
Hello,

I am using the below "resorces" on a Xubuntu 11.10, is there any chance I may setup a working version of ZoneMinder with this PC?
My needs are quite low as well...I need a 1 camera only installation to check my car.
Some neighbour has decided that I am not entitled to park on a public space under my window and he started to vandalize my car (scratches) :( :(
...maybe because I have a foreign plate?? :|

So I would like to use this low level resources old PC for this purpose but please let me know if I have any chance to see it working before I start.

If I have understood well some cameras have built-in video streamer, this may salvage resources on the PC and make the magic happen?

troggot@dancer:~$ egrep "processor|name" /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
model name : Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1400MHz
troggot@dancer:~$ cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemTot
MemTotal: 474864 kB
troggot@dancer:~$ uname -a
Linux dancer 3.0.0-14-generic #23-Ubuntu SMP Mon Nov 21 20:34:47 UTC 2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
troggot@dancer:~$


Hi!
The easiest way to check the suitability of the computer to work with ZM - use the LiveCD with ZM. ZMliveCD_1.23.3.iso
The easiest way to get a working solution - LiveCD with ZM with the possibility of the installation.
The best way, but requires the most time - shopping for a favorite distro Linux (I like OpenSUSE 11.4) in server mode, install and configure ZM yourself.


Sun Jan 01, 2012 7:10 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:04 am
Posts: 933
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
If there's requests for these LiveCD's I'll repost them to LinuxTracter and support them but the real answer would be for someone to post a new one against 1.25


Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:34 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:54 am
Posts: 71
Location: the netherlands
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
Hi,

I'm using an Intel celeron 1.6 ghz (mobile) processor in an mini ITX system and it works fine with an PCI BTTV capturecard an 3 cam's on 5 frames/sec.
So I think you can use it.

(I'm using ubuntu 11 64 server install, and a 20 GB harddrive (5400rpm) , 1 GB ram but I use only 450 mb of RAM)

_________________
Zoneminder @Ubuntu 11 server, ZM 1.25.0 , FFMPEG, 4 Analoge cameras, 1.6ghz P4mobile, 2GB ram, 60GB-HDD.
I also have an (homeseer) domotica system up-and-running with touchscreens,light controllers,weather forecast etc.


Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:56 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:07 am
Posts: 1102
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
You shoudl be fine if my pentum 3 @ 600mhz can do motion detect on 2 640x480 8fps cctv camers i am sure almost any hardware can do it. Just make sure to set frame skip in the monitor setup page makes motion detect run on every other 5th etc frame rather than every one.

_________________
GOOGLE TUTORIAL

Professional ZM install
Give PM or email.
E-lance Profile Link

Experiment/Blog


Wed Jan 04, 2012 5:43 am
Profile YIM

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:19 am
Posts: 3
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
kingofkya wrote:
You shoudl be fine if my pentum 3 @ 600mhz can do motion detect on 2 640x480 8fps cctv camers i am sure almost any hardware can do it. Just make sure to set frame skip in the monitor setup page makes motion detect run on every other 5th etc frame rather than every one.

i have an old laptop running windows 98, not sure about hd size, probably less than 10gb...will it work?

_________________
"If you are afraid of failure, then you will fail" - by me


Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:14 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:27 pm
Posts: 341
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
You can tune zm down to use fewer resources. Give it a try, it'll probably be capable of recording. Motion detection uses a lot more processor, but even so it may work.

As for whether you can view public areas, see http://www.ico.gov.uk/for_the_public/to ... /cctv.aspx (there's another guider for organisations)

Generally, you can record anywhere except where someone may expect privacy. That said, I do know of instances where recording somebody else's private land, garden etc has been viewed as an invasion, but never a public parking area. The police will approach you every time there's something dodgy if they know you're recording and ask for copies, but I've never had a problem cooperating in the dozen or so times they've contacted us.


Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:51 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:34 am
Posts: 16
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
I think for one camera it should work fine.

Depends on your camera too.

For complete ease of use in your situation, whatever camera you buy probably comes with recording software (for Windows). You may want to just use that for 2 weeks, find your guy, and deal with person, and then move on with your life.

AXIS bundled software is probably adequate for you.

If you want more options, power, etc, use Zoneminder.


Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:09 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:13 pm
Posts: 2
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
Thanks to all,

any chance to get a working link to the ZMliveCD_1.23.3.iso?
I have the impression I have browsed the whole internet without finding one.
All links are not working.

Also if you had one copy it'd be great if you could feed a torrent ...


Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:03 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:47 pm
Posts: 5218
Location: /USA/Washington/Seattle
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
I believe I still have a working link of both Ross's LiveCD and my Old Distro at ctuweb.com You shouldn't need to login too get it.


Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:16 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:04 am
Posts: 933
Post Re: Any chance I can use this Hardware?
Posted at Linuxtracker.org (1.23.3 based on Mandriva) in the LiveCD category. I can also produce if needed: ZMLarch 1.24.2, ZMLinuxOS 1.23.3 (based on PCLinuxOS).


Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:59 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group